Faculty Accolades

Faculty Awards Overview

  • Multiple professors have won the Derrick J. Bell Jr. Award for junior faculty member who, through activism, mentoring, colleagueship, teaching and scholarship, have made extraordinary contributions to legal education, the legal system or social justice. Kaaryn Gustafson 2009 (while at UConn); Song Richardson 2011 (at Iowa); Stephen Lee 2014.
  • UCI Law hired five new faculty in past two years in wide range of areas including: corporate law, bankruptcy law, criminal law, tax law. (2017: Sasha Natapoff, Emily Taylor Poppe, Dalie Jimenez; 2018: Josh Blank, Victor Fleischer).
  • UCI Law is now home to 12 professors who are members in the ALI, Profs. Alex CamachoMichele Goodwin elected most recently.
  • Four professors are reporters for the ALI: Christopher Whytock: Associate Reporter, Restatement (Third) of Conflict of Laws and Adviser, Restatement (Fourth), of Foreign Relations Law of the United States; Tony Reese: Associate Reporter, Restatement of the Law, Copyright; Ken Simons: Reporter, Restatement Third of Torts: Intentional Torts to Persons; and Richard Hasen: Reporter, Restatement of the Third Law, Torts: Remedies. Prof. Hasen also is an Adviser for the Restatement of the Third Law, Torts: Concluding Provisions and Michele Goodwin is an Adviser for the Restatement of the Third Law Torts: Remedies.