Can American Democracy Survive the 2020 Elections?

The role of media, law, political norms, and technology in assuring acceptance of election results.

February 28, 2020
8:15 a.m.–5:00 p.m.
UCI Division of Continuing Education, Yosemite Ballroom

Schedule (PDF)

Video Gallery >

This event is presented in conjunction with the UCI Jack W. Peltason Center for the Study of Democracy and with the generous support of the Democracy Fund, the William and Flora Hewlett Foundation, and the Mertz Gilmore Foundation.

Fair Elections During a Crisis: Urgent Recommendations in Law, Media, Politics, and Tech to Advance the Legitimacy of, and the Public’s Confidence in, the November 2020 U.S. Elections

A Report by the Ad Hoc Committee for 2020 Election Fairness and Legitimacy

Recognizing the need for multifaceted solutions to the issue of the legitimacy and acceptance of fair election results in the United States, Richard L. Hasen, Chancellor’s Professor of Law and Political Science at UC Irvine, convened both a conference and an ad hoc committee made up of a diverse group of leading scholars and leaders to tackle this issue from an interdisciplinary perspective. After public meetings and further online deliberations, this Committee made fourteen recommendations for immediate change that should be implemented to increase voter confidence in the fairness and legitimacy of the 2020 elections.

Read the report > 


  • Andrew Appel

    Eugene Higgins Professor of Computer Science, Princeton University
  • Julia Azari

    Associate Professor and Assistant Chair of Political Science, Marquette University
  • The Hon. Jocelyn Benson

    Secretary of State, Michigan
  • Bruce Cain

    Professor of Political Science, Stanford University
  • Jack Doppelt

    Hamad bin Khalifa Al Thani Professor of Journalism, Northwestern University
  • Tiana Epps-Johnson

    Founder & Executive Director, Center for Technology and Civic Life
  • Ned Foley

    Charles W. Ebersold and Florence Whitcomb Ebersold Chair in Constitutional Law; Director, Election Law @ Moritz, Ohio State University
  • John Fortier

    Director of Governmental Studies, Bipartisan Policy Center
  • Patty Hansen

    Coconino County, AZ Recorder
  • Rick Hasen

    Chancellor's Professor of Law and Political Science, UCI Law
  • Liz Howard

    Counsel, Brennan Center's Democracy Program
  • Jessica Huseman

    Voting Rights and Election Administration Reporter, ProPublica
  • David Kaye

    Clinical Professor of Law, International Justice Clinic Director (UCI Law), and UN Special Rapporteur on the Promotion and Protection of the Right to Freedom of Opinion and Expression

  • Neal Kelley

    Orange County, CA Registrar
  • The Hon. Frank LaRose

    Secretary of State, Ohio
  • Michael Morley

    Assistant Professor of Law, Florida State University
  • Janai Nelson

    Associate Direct-Counsel, NAACP Legal Defense and Educational Fund
  • Brendan Nyhan

    Professor of Government, Dartmouth College
  • Cailin O’Connor

    Associate Professor of Logic and Philosophy Science, UCI School of Social Sciences
  • Norm Ornstein

    Resident Scholar, AEI
  • Nina Perales

    Vice President of Litigation, MALDEF
  • Nate Persily

    James B. McClatchy Professor of Law, Stanford University
  • Rick Pildes

    Sudler Family Professor of Constitutional Law, NYU
  • Song Richardson

    Dean and Chancellor's Professor of Law, UCI Law
  • Bertrall Ross

    Chancellor's Professor of Law, UC Berkeley
  • Alex Stamos

    Director, Stanford Internet Observatory, Stanford University
  • Charles Stewart

    Kenan Sahin Distinguished Professor of Political Science, MIT
  • Michael Tesler

    Associate Professor of Political Science, UCI School of Social Sciences
  • Ciara Torres-Spelliscy

    Professor of Law, Stetson University
  • James Weatherall

    Professor of Logic and Philosophy of Science, UCI School of Social Sciences
  • Amy Wilentz

    Professor of English, UCI School of Humanities
  • Kim Zetter

    Journalist and Author