Moot Court Competition 2019

Final Argument

Jan. 25, 2019
3:30-5:00 p.m.
UCI Student Center, Crystal Cove Auditorium


Final Results

Best Oralist:  Paige Christie
Runner -Up Oralist: Tiffany Aguiar

Best Brief:  Salma Alheraiqi & Emily Johanson 
Runners Up: Jazz Cabula & Paige Cavendish


Justice Sheryl G. McCloud (Washington Supreme Court), Judge Michael H. Simon (U.S. District Court, District of Oregon), and Justice Richard D. Fybel (California Court of Appeal, Fourth District).

Questions Presented

  1. Whether public schools may, consistent with the First Amendment, impose discipline on students for speech conducted entirely off campus?
  2. If schools may impose discipline on students for such off-campus speech without ipso facto violating the First Amendment, under what circumstances is such discipline permissible?
  3. Did the school’s discipline of Petitioner in this case comport with these standards?

2019-2019 Moot Court Board

The UC Irvine School of Law Moot Court Board is comprised of third-year students who successfully participated in Moot Court previously. This year’s Moot Court Board consists of the following members:

  • President: Kate Wetz
  • Vice President of Internal Competition: Katie Rice
  • Vice Presidents of Bench Brief: Emily Satifka and Christopher Smallwood
  • Vice President of Judicial Relations: Farnaz Salessi
  • Vice President of Administration: Desiree Murray

Mission Statement

The mission of the UC Irvine School of Law Moot Court Board is to promote the development and refinement of students’ legal research, writing and appellate oral advocacy skills by encouraging their participation in moot court competitions. Each year, the Board organizes an intramural moot court competition that asks students to address issues from real-life cases, with the ultimate goal of preparing them for their legal careers.