Moot Court Competition 2018

Final Argument

Monday, January 29, 2018
3:30–5:00 p.m.
Crystal Cove Auditorium, UCI Student Center



Final Results

Best Advocate:  Katherine Rice
Runner Up: Emily Satifka

Best Brief:  Kaitlin Wetz and Christopher Smallwood
Runners Up: Desiree Murray and Katherine Rice


  • The Honorable Mark W. Bennett, U.S. District Court, Northern District of Iowa
  • The Honorable Josephine Staton, U.S. District Court, Central District of California
  • The Honorable Richard M. Aronson, California Court of Appeal, Fourth District, Division Three

Questions Presented

  1. Whether the provisions of the Firearm Owner’s Privacy Act constitute professional speech or professional conduct? 
  2. What level of scrutiny applies to professional speech, and what level of scrutiny applies to the Firearm Owner’s Privacy Act? 
  3. Whether the provisions of the Firearm Owner’s Privacy Act violate the First Amendment because they are unconstitutionally vague?

Competitors List

Full list of competitors here >

Dates and Deadlines

Sign-up/Commit Deadline: Tuesday, September 5

Prompt available: Friday, September 8

Brief-writing Training: Tuesday, September 12

Brief Due: Wednesday, October 25 at 3:00 p.m.

Oral Argument Training: Tuesday, October 31,  12:00-1:00 p.m.

Practice Oral Arguments: Saturday November 4 - Monday, November 6

Mandatory First Preliminary Argument: Tuesday, November 7 - Sunday, November 12

Mandatory Second Preliminary Argument: Tuesday, November 14 - Sunday, November 19

Round of 16: Monday, January 8 – Friday, January 12

Round of 8: Monday, January 15 – Friday, January 19

Semi-Finals: Monday, January 22 – Friday, January 26

Finals: Monday, January 29 at 3:30pm

2017-2018 Moot Court Board

The UC Irvine School of Law Moot Court Board is comprised of third-year students who successfully participated in Moot Court previously. This year’s Moot Court Board consists of the following members:

  • President: Emma McBurney
  • Vice President of Administration: Star Leal
  • Vice President of Internal Competition: Hannah Jeffrey
  • Internal Competition At-Large Committee: David Penner, Bryce Farrington, Jacob Berezin, Michael Hefty
  • Vice President of Judicial Relations: Robert Winson
  • Vice Presidents of Bench Brief: Sarah Dawley and Tiffany Yim

Mission Statement

The mission of the UC Irvine School of Law Moot Court Board is to promote the development and refinement of students’ legal research, writing and appellate oral advocacy skills by encouraging their participation in moot court competitions. Each year, the Board organizes an intramural moot court competition that asks students to address issues from real-life cases, with the ultimate goal of preparing them for their legal careers.