International Union of Psychological Science

Established in 1889



Professor Elizabeth Loftus University of California, Irvine Irvine CA, 92697-7080 USA

Email: eloftus@uci.edu

10 February 2020

Dear Professor Loftus,

As President of the International Union of Psychological Science (IUPsyS), it is my great honour and pleasure to inform you that the IUPsyS Awards Jury has selected you to be the recipient of its *Lifetime Career Award* for 2020. I would also like to convey the warm congratulations of the Chair of the Jury, Professor Gianvittorio Caprara (Sapienza University, Rome, Italy), the jury members, and the Chair of the IUPsyS Awards Committee and IUPsyS Past-President, Professor Saths Coope (Universities of Pretoria and Johannesburg, South Africa).

The *Lifetime Career Award* is part of the IUPsyS quadrennial awards program to acknowledge the achievements of psychologists and is given in recognition of distinguished and enduring lifetime contributions to international cooperation and the advancement of knowledge in the field of psychological science. The award will be presented at the International Congress of Psychology (ICP), which takes place in Prague, Czech Republic, 19-24 July 2020, and where, as recipient of the award, you are also invited to deliver a plenary lecture.

I very much hope you will be able to attend the award ceremony this July. Travel to the Congress and accommodation will be covered according to the travel reimbursement policies of the International Union of Psychological Science. In light of this, and to provide you with further information concerning travel arrangements, the award ceremony, registration, and your keynote presentation, the Secretary-General of the Union, Dr Ann Watts (anndwatts@iafrica.com), will make contact with you shortly.

As there will be an official IUPsyS press release closer to the time of the award presentation in July, we ask that you keep your being the 2020 recipient of this award top secret and not to inform any media offices until after the official IUPsyS press release. We will be extremely grateful for your understanding and cooperation in this matter.

OFFICERS

President: Pam Maras United Kingdom • Past President: Saths Cooper South Africa Secretary-General: Ann D Watts South Africa • Treasurer: Goh Chee Leong Malaysia

REGULAR MEMBERS

Oscar A Barbarin USA • Simon Crowe Australia • Ricardo Gorayeb Brazil • Germán Gutiérrez Colombia • Pascal Huguet France Brigitte Khoury Lebanon • Martina Klicperová Czech Republic • Prakash Padakannaya India • Ava Thompson The Bahamas • Jianxin Zhang China

Member of the International Social Science Council and of the International Council for Science • In consultative status with the Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) of the United Nations • In formal associate relations with UNESCO • In official relations with the World Health Organization (WHO) Once again, congratulations on the award. Please let me know via email whether you accept the award and if you plan to attend. I look forward to hearing from you and, we all hope, to meeting you in the not too distant future.

With best wishes,

Pan Maras

Professor Pam Maras President International Union of Psychological Science Email: <u>P.F.Maras@gre.ac.uk</u>

cc: Professor Saths Cooper