California Bar - Related Fees

Students are urged to plan for the expense of taking the bar exam. Fees and costs will vary depending on the state in which you take the test. For students taking the California Bar Exam, you should plan on putting aside about $5,800, not including living expenses. The California Bar fees below are all current as of October 2016. Please note that fees escalate quickly if the application is filed after the deadline.

DescriptionDeadlineRegular FeeLate Fee
Application for Registration with the California Bar
Note: Registration with the State Bar is not the same as registering for the California Bar Exam. Registration with the Bar is required prior to:
1) obtaining certification to practice as a law student (required for most UCI Law clinics); 2) submitting the application for moral character; 3) submitting the application to take the Bar Exam.
The State Bar advises students to register within 90 days of matriculation in law school. $119 None
MPRE Registration
Test Dates:
  • Saturday, March 18, 2017*
  • Saturday, August 12, 2017*
  • Saturday, November 4, 2017*
Regular Registration Deadline ($95)
  • Jan 26 for March 18, 2017 Exam
  • June 22 for August 12, 2017 Exam
  • Sept. 14 for Nov. 4, 2017 Exam
$80 Late Registration Deadline ($190 fee)**
  • February 2, 2017 for Mar. 18, 2017 Exam
  • June 29, 2017 for August 12, 2017 Exam
  • Sept. 21, 2017 for November 4, 2017 Exam
Application for Moral Character Determination The application is good for three (3) years. Students should plan to complete it in the Fall of their third year. $551
Fingerprinting (required for Moral Character Application)
  • National Background Security Services, Inc. (commercial company will come on campus in fall)
  • UCI Police Department
90 days prior to submission of Moral Character application $21 (private  company);
$51 (UCI Police)
If Moral Character application is submitted more than 90 days after the fingerprints were taken, students must pay to have the prints re-taken.
Application to take the Bar Exam (figures current as of June 2015)
Please see registration deadlines on the State Bar website. Registration typically opens in November for the February bar exam, and in March for the July bar exam.  Some popular examination sites, such as San Diego, fill quickly. Applicants are encouraged to register early to ensure a spot in their preferred testing location.
Please see registration deadlines on the State Bar website. $677
  • Late fee $50 if filed between the first and last business days of April for the July bar exam, and between the first and last business days of November for the February bar exam.
  • Late fee $250 if filed between the last business day of April and the final filing deadline for the July bar exam, and the last business day of November and the final filing deadline for the February bar exam.
Laptop Fee Due at same time as application to take the Bar Exam $153 Late fee of $15 applies if filed after the regular filing deadline
Bar Review Course
Cost will vary depending on which provider you select, e.g.:
  • Themis Bar Review is $1,695
  • Kaplan Bar Review is $3,445
The rate shown in the Regular Fee column is for BARBRI, simply for purposes of illustrating an average cost and NOT as an endorsement by the Law School.
Varies by company $4,145
(includes $250 non-refundable registration fee)
$75
Additional Expenses (summer living expenses; travel, hotel food during Bar Exam)
Set aside funds to cover living expenses during the summer, and, depending on your circumstances, staying at a hotel during the Bar Exam. Rate information for hotels near test centers is available on the State Bar Web site. Please note the hotels have cut-off dates for reserving rooms at these special rates.
Varies Varies Higher room rates may apply at a certain date. Confirm with hotels the cut-off dates for special rates.

* Saturday Sabbath Observers: If your religious beliefs preclude you from taking the MPRE on a Saturday, then you may apply with LSAC to take the exam on the following Monday. To request to take the exam on Monday, you must provide a letter on official stationery from your cleric confirming your affiliation with a recognized religious entity that observes its Sabbath throughout the year on Saturday. The letter must be received by LSAC by the late registration deadline or you will not be allowed to test.

** ADA Accommodation requests: All ADA accommodation requests must be RECEIVED by the late registration deadline. NO exceptions.