Visions of Change

Occasional Notes from the Dean

“In 2014, the Law School will be considered for full accreditation by the American Bar Association.”

Erwin Chemerinsky
Founding Dean

Embarking on an Important Fifth Year

I would like to offer a heart-felt welcome to our newest students, the Class of 2016, and welcome back our second- and third-year students.

I would also like to welcome our newest faculty: Professor Annie Lai, Professor Douglas NeJaime, Professor Benjamin van Rooij, Professor Jane Stoever, and Professor Luz Herrera, a visiting clinical professor. We also welcome new senior administrators: Ann Chernicoff, our Assistant Dean for Career Development, and Donna Mumford, our Assistant Dean for Development and External Relations.

Two long-time administrators have assumed new roles: Charles Cannon is now our Vice Dean, and Lisa Rehbaum is our Assistant Dean for Finance and Facilities.

It is difficult to believe we are about to embark on our fifth year of classes at UC Irvine School of Law. What started as a dream is now a reality as we continue to build on our efforts to realize our mission: to do the best job in the country of training lawyers for the practice of law at the highest levels of the profession.

We look ahead to a tremendously exciting 2013-14 school year. In 2014, the Law School will be considered for full accreditation by the American Bar Association. We will be visited by a site team from the ABA on Oct. 27-30, and they will meet with students and faculty.

We will once more have many terrific speakers, events and conferences throughout the year. On Jan. 27, 2014, we will have our fourth annual Moot Court finals, to be judged by Supreme Court Justice Sonia Sotomayor, Sixth Circuit Judge Martha Daughtrey, and Ninth Circuit Judge William Fletcher.

On Jan. 31-Feb. 1 we will hold our annual Global Justice Summit, where students hammer out a new constitution for a fictional country. A student-organized symposium will be held on Feb. 22, on “Prisoners Access to Justice: Legal Services, Medical Services, and Juvenile Education.”

Harvard Law Professor Kenneth Mack will deliver the fourth annual Al Meyerhoff Lecture in Public Interest Law on Feb. 20.

On March 11, we will hold our annual Public Interest Law Fund Benefit to raise funds to provide summer stipends for students in public interest jobs.

On April 18, attorney and best-selling author Scott Turow will deliver the fifth annual Mark P. Robinson Jr. Lecture. On May 22-24, we will host an Immigration Law Professors Workshop.

Also in the spring, Stanford Law Professor Pam Karlan will deliver the third annual Raymond Pryke First Amendment Law Lecture, and our third Legal History symposium, “Law As…III,” once again will draw prominent scholars from across the country.

All of this, of course, is in addition to a wide array of speakers who are part of the guest speaker series organized by Professor Henry Weinstein. Many student groups will be bringing additional speakers and events to the Law School. The Center for Land, Environment, and Natural Resources and the Center on Law, Equality and Race will hold regular events.

Our third commencement will be held on May 10, and California Supreme Court Justice Goodwin Liu will be the speaker.

We begin our fifth year of classes with great excitement. I am confident that in every way it will be a wonderful year.

Aug. 16, 2013

Erwin Chemerinsky
Founding Dean and Distinguished Professor, Raymond Pryke Professor of First Amendment Law
University of California, Irvine School of Law